The laws surrounding the use of marijuana are changing in the United States, but they’re not the same everywhere you go. Federally, marijuana is still illegal to possess, sell or distribute. Each state determines if it will or will not allow marijuana use at the recreational level. Some states allow only for prescription use.
Pennsylvania does allow for the legal use of medical marijuana. There are some conditions that help you qualify for it, like having Crohn’s Disease or epilepsy. If you don’t qualify for a medical marijuana card, then it’s illegal to possess, sell, cultivate or distribute marijuana, hash or concentrates.
What are the penalties for possessing marijuana in Pennsylvania?
If you possess marijuana and do not have a medical marijuana card, you could face a misdemeanor. If you have 30 grams or less, the penalty is 30 days in jail and a $500 maximum fine. If you’re caught with more than 30 grams of marijuana, you could find yourself in jail for up to 12 months and have a fine of up to $5,000. On a second or greater offense, you could face a doubled penalty.
What are the penalties for growing marijuana?
Some people try to avoid being identified by growing their own plants. Cultivation is a felony in Pennsylvania. You face between 2.5 and 5 years in prison for the crime and a fine of up to $15,000, even if you never sold a single plant or any of its leaves. Manufacturing hash or concentrates from your plants is also a felony with the same potential penalties.
Marijuana is a Schedule 1 controlled substance, so it’s possible to be convicted of marijuana-related crimes within the state and federally. If you’re caught, it’s important to defend yourself and know your rights, so you can protect yourself and your interests.