In Pennsylvania, as with all states, crimes have classifications. The two main classifications are misdemeanors and felonies. The classifications create differences in sentencing and ramifications. For instance, a person charged with a misdemeanor may only face county or local jail time. When charged with a felony, on the other hand, a sentence to state prison may be in order for the defendant. Felony charges are also renowned for making it difficult for employees to find new work.
According to the Pennsylvania Code, there are three felony degrees: first, second and third. Sentencing relies heavily on the degrees. For instance, a felony in the first degree holds a sentence of imprisonment that is more than ten years. If convicted of a first-degree felony, defendants may spend more than 10 years in prison. A second-degree felony, on the other hand, cannot hold a maximum sentence for more than 10 years. Third degree states that a prisoner may not have an imprisonment term of more than seven years. For murder cases, life imprisonment and the death penalty are still options for sentencing.
Pennsylvania offers one more felony classification. This an unclassified code that simply means that the defendant seeks judgment based on the statute. In addition to prison time, felony charges can require fines. The fines for felony charges range from 15,000 dollars and 25,000 dollars. Misdemeanors, on the other hand, tend to be five years or less in county jail with a maximum fine of 10,000 dollars.
This article is for education purposes only, regarding the degrees of felony charges. Please do not take anything here as legal advice.